Formula 1 – British Grand Prix Preview


Northamptonshire, England is the home of the Silverstone circuit that currently holds both the British Grand Prix, and the Moto GP events. Silverstone first played host to the British Grand Prix in in 1948 however it was not decided as the permanent event location until 1987. The 2021 British Grand Prix is set to start just 2 weeks after the Austrian GP ends and will take place on July 18th. Formula 1 is great for racing and betting fans alike with such a diverse list of events and racers if you haven’t yet, now would be a great time to get involved with the British Grand Prix.

Formula 1 Season So Far

This year will see the Formula 1 World Championship turn 72 as Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes hope to hold both the World Drivers Champion and World Constructors Champion titles for the 5th year running. The teams they are looking to win the title are:

  • Alfa Romeo Racing Orlen.
  • Alpha Tauri.
  • Alpine.
  • Aston Martin.
  • Ferrari.
  • Haas.
  • McLaren.
  • Mercedes.
  • Red bull Racing.
  • Williams.

The prime candidates for this year’s title have been Lewis Hamilton, representing Mercedes and Max Verstappen with Red Bull. These two have been 1st or 2nd in 6 of 7 races so far this season. Another strong contender has been Sergio Perez from Mexico who took the win at Baku just ahead of Sebastian Vettel (who finished second). There is still 12 more Grand Prixes to go before the end of this competition; it will be interesting to see how things play out!

Previous Silverstone Results

Lewis Hamilton has dominated the competition over the past 10 years which really highlights his skill and determination. Six of these victories happened at Silverstone, but for 2020 Max Verstappen won this race with other winners being Vettel (2018), Rosberg (2013) and Webber (2012). Lewis Hamilton currently holds the record for the most wins at Silverstone, an impressive 7 victories, 6 of which in the past 10 years.

Brazil At Silverstone

A Brazilian hasn’t won at Silverstone for nearly 20 years, in 2003 Rubens Barrichello raced for Ferrari and won both Silverstone and the Japanese Grand Prix at Suzuka. Prior to this it was Ayrton Senna for McLaren back in 1988 that claimed the win at Silverstone, the first of 3 Formula 1 World Championship winning years for Senna.

Betting On Formula 1

Outright betting is the most simple and popular bet to place on Formula 1 with the drivers and teams that you believe will come first available to choose however there are other methods of betting that offer greater odds. The greatest returns often come from betting on the car or driver to retire first from the race, whether it be because of a crash or an engineering fault, it is often likely to see 1 or 2 cars retire from a competitive race. There are plenty of other bets to browse through including who constructed the winning car, podium positions, the fastest qualifier and winning margins that can produce better pay-outs for those that are confident in a specific team or driver.

Bets like this and more are available across our great affiliate websites with competitive odds on the Silverstone GP and all other Formula 1 competitions. New joiners can begin their betting experience with an enticing starting bonus that offers even more ways to win with free bets to place after the first deposit. All of these sites can be found on our sports betting page with reviews available to help you decide which of these sites is best for you with regards to the features, customer service and range of sports available.


Although it is impossible to know what will happen in such a competitive and heated competition it is looking like the real competition is between Hamilton and Verstappen at the moment. With both of these drivers enjoying victories at Silverstone in the past and with the form they have shown throughout this year, it is hard to choose between the pair. However we see Hamilton just edging it this year as the home advantage could be beneficial. Other drivers that have shown the potential to take on the frontrunners this year are Sergio Perez and Valterri Bottas.